This is the "Home" page of the "Library Services" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Services  

Last Updated: May 23, 2016 URL: http://ahec.osrhe.libguides.com/content.php?pid=342221 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

What's in this Guide?

This guide is for those interested in learning more about UCSO Library services. In addition to the information located on this page, you may also find information about the following services:

 

 

Library Policies

 

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

What is Interlibrary Loan?

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service offered through which you can gain access to materials (books, articles, etc.) not owned by the UCSO Library. Loan procedures are regulated by the National Interlibrary Loan Code, by United States copyright law, and by the regulations and policies of the lending and borrowing libraries.

Who can make ILL requests?

Current UCSO students,  faculty, and staff may use ILL services.

How long does it take to receive ILL materials?

The length of time between your request and receipt of materials depends on a number of factors such as mail service, lending library location, and type of material requested. Allow at least a week from the date of the request.

Where do I pick up my ILL materials?

The ILL department will notify you by telephone or email when your material has been received. You will pick up your book or document at the circulation desk of the library.

How long can I keep ILL materials?

Loan periods, typically 2-3 weeks, are determined by the lending library. Most libraries do not permit renewal of ILL items. Photocopies of articles are yours to keep and do not need to be returned.

For more information about ILL or to request ILL materials, contact:

Jayanna Greenwood, ILL Specialist/Library Assistant

580.220.2871

jgreenwood@ucso.osrhe.edu

 

 

Circulation

Borrowing Privileges

Library patrons must hold a valid UCSO library card or SOSU library card to check out materials from the UCSO library. Books may checked out for 3 weeks and renewed for an additional 3 week period. DVDs may be checked out for 1 week.

Renewal Policy

Library books may be renewed, providing they are not recalled, lost, interlibrary loan materials with no renewals allowed or reserve items. Students may renew materials via phone or email (see below). Students checking out or renewing interlibrary loan books are subject to the circulation and fine policies of the lending library. 

Fine & Billing Policy

UCSO does not charge overdue fees. However, lost book fines will be assessed after the library patron is sent 3 overdue notices and the materials have not been returned. The charges will be added to their student billing record in the UCSO business office. The billing includes the replacement cost of the book(s), plus a $5 non-refundable processing fee for each book.

Book Return

There is a book return located by the circulation desk in the UCSO library.

OK Share Program

Students may check out books from other college and university libraries in Oklahoma through the OK Share program. Ask our library staff about obtaining an OK Share card. OK Share policies and participating libraries are linked below:

OK Share Policies

Participating Libraries

 

 

 

 

Library Reserves

The reserves collection contains books, journal articles, and other items selected by instructors to support their curriculum. Because these items are in high demand, they are placed on reserve so that many students can use them. Come to the library circulation desk to request reserve items. Your UCSO library card is required to check out reserve items. 

 

Library Hours


Summer 2016

May 31- Aug. 1

Monday - Thursday

7:30 AM - 7:30 PM

Friday

Closed

Saturday & Sunday

Closed

The library is closed on the following days:

                                                                                                                             Memorial Day, May 30

 

      

       580-220-2855 

                                   

      

  Email

 

Library FAQs

Your library questions are answered here

 

Does the library sell scantrons, pens/pencils, thumb drives?

No, the library does not sell these items. They may be purchased at the bookstore.

Does the library provide change for the copy machines?

No, the library does not provide change for the copy machines. Change is available in the vending area near the back of the building.

Does the library have color printers/copiers?

No, color prints/copies are not available.

Does the library have a fax machine?

Yes. The library staff can fax academic materials for patrons.

Does the library have a scanner?

Yes. The library staff can scan academic materials for patrons.

Where do I return my books?

Books and other items you have checked out should be returned to the bin at the circulation desk in the library.

How do I renew my library books?

You may renew books in person, by phone, or by email. Call 580.220.2855 or email jgreenwood@ucso.osrhe.edu

What if the library does not have the book/article I need?

You can request an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) if we don’t have the book or article you need. Contact the library staff to request an ILL.

How do I get a library card?

You may fill out a library card request form at the circulation desk. You need your driver’s license or a state ID to get a library card.

Do I need a library card to use a computer in the library?

No, you do not need a library card to use computers in the library.

What if I lose or damage a book?

The library charges for replacement of lost or damaged books.

 

 

Library Information

The Mary Jane Hamilton Library at UCSO is available for use by students, faculty, staff members and citizens of our service area. The library collection and services include:

  • Approximately 16,000 print volumes 
  • Over 16,000 eBooks
  • Approximately 150 professional journals and magazines
  • Access to more than 600 electronic reference books (Credo Reference Database) 
  • Access to over 30 general and subject-specific electronic databases (on-site and remote access) that provide full-text access to journals, magazines and newspapers (EbscoHost)
  • Library computer lab
  • Inter-library loan service: patrons may request materials not available at our library
  • Facility-wide wireless network: students may access the Internet with their laptop computer or other mobile device via the wireless network on campus. 

Borrowing Privileges

Library patrons must hold a valid UCSO library card or SOSU library card to check out materials from the UCSO Library. Books may checked out for 3 weeks and renewed for an additional 3 week period. DVDs and videos may be checked out for 1 week.

Renewal Policy

Library books may be renewed, providing they are not recalled, lost, interlibrary loan materials with no renewals allowed or reserve items. Students may renew materials via phone or email. Students checking out or renewing interlibrary loan books are subject to the circulation and fine policies of the lending library. 

Fine & Billing Policy

UCSO Library doesn't charge overdue fines. However, lost book fines will be assessed after the library patron is sent 3 overdue notices and the materials have not been returned. The charges will be added to their student billing record in the UCSO business office. The billing includes the replacement cost of the book(s), plus a $5 non-refundable processing fee for each book.

Book Return

There is a book return located by the circulation desk in the UCSO Library

OK Share Program

Students may check out books from other college and university libraries in Oklahoma through the OK Share program. Ask our library staff about obtaining an OK Share card. Click here to see OK Share policies. Click here to see a list of participating libraries.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip